On the Mat

by Masashi

So, there are some guilty pleasures in my life that I get mocked for almost on a daily basis. Some of these include my love for cheap buffets, kitchen gadget informercials (have you seen the new one with Vicky Lawrence!? sooo good), b-horror flicks and of course, my collection of flashy bow ties. BTW, all of these will be highlighted in future posts. But what takes the cake, is my undying love (and I mean love) for wrestling. Yes folks, I’m a lover of WWE, TNA, Wrestlicious and some indie stuff.  Why you ask? Well, to be frank, I love the overly-complicated stories, redonkulous outfits, some of the guys are kinda adorable and I can’t think of another show with so many kick ass women (okay yes, the representation of the women is still flawed at times). So I’ve officially out’d myself. I feel so liberated.

Okay so last week, I saw this interesting PSA on TNA . Check it out…

How progressive. And in the past year, there actually seems to be a small push towards eliminating racial and gay stereotypes. TNA even has a new “bisexual” wrestler, Orlando Jordan (well, he’s been in wrestling for awhile now, but recently changed his character to be… well… gayer.) Take a look:

Now at first, I was offended by this new character. He was a villain that you hated because he was hyper sexual and yeah, gay. The worst part was having to hear the announcers every week insulting him for being “odd” or “freaky” or “creepy”. Hm, not so progressive. Okay but fast forward half a year later, today he’s actually turning into a face (oh sorry, that’s wrestling talk for a good guy). He’s in a sudo-relationship with another wrestler and they are actually getting cheers. And as I’m watching his transformation, I’m optimistic that they are going to make him the first ever openly gay good guy. And for queer wrestling nerds like myself, that’s pretty neat. It also helps to know that the wrestler in real life is also an out bisexual. Sadly there still are tons of problematic stories and characters in wrestling (I know, I know), but I’m hopeful things will get better. And in the meantime, as long as they’re wearing spandex costumes, I’ll keep watchin’.

One response to “On the Mat

  1. I’ve always wondered what kind of people were really into wrestling. Thank you for revealing yourself! Also very interesting that you call the wrestlers “characters”. I’m queerious enough now to check it out sometime. : )

Leave a Reply

